The Coptic Museum is the largest museum of Coptic history, antiquities and art. It is affiliated with the Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities. It abounds in the largest collection of unique Coptic monuments, as this collection reaches about 16,000 artifacts which are the most important and rarest in the world, reflecting the diversity and richness of the Coptic civilization in Egypt.
In 1908 Markus Semeika Pasha began establishing the Coptic Museum on a land of the Coptic Church, and it was officially opened in 1910.
The museum remained the Coptic Patriarchate property the until 1931, until it was decided to formally annex it to state property to provide the maximum means of preserving its collection.