المقبرة الجنوبية

المقبرة الجنوبية

تقع المقبرة الجنوبية في الركن الجنوبي الغربي من مجموعة الملك زوسر الجنائزية التي تعد أقدم بناء حجري في العالم القديم (الدولة القديمة - الأسرة الثالثة)، والتي اكتشفها الأثري الإنجليزي "سيسيل مالابى فيرث" عام 1928م، وهو من أطلق عليها هذا الاسم الذي لاتزال تعرف به حتى الآن.

تتكون المقبرة من جزء علوي على هيئة بناء حجري مستطيل الشكل، وتزين جدرانه مجموعة من الأكتاف الحجرية على هيئة الدخلات والخرجات التي يعلوها افريز مزين بحيات الكوبرا التي ترمز إلى الحماية والسلطة.

أما عن الجزء السفلي من المقبرة فهو يتكون من مدخل يؤدي إلى ممر منحدر ينتهي بحجرة للدفن والتي تقع في قاع بئر ضخم يبلغ طول ضلعه حوالي 7,5 م وعمقه 31 م تقريبا، وتحتوي غرفة الدفن على تابوت ضخم مكون من 16 كتلة من الجرانيت الوردي الذي يبلغ ارتفاعه 3,60 م وعرضه 3,50 وطوله 3,60، كما يمكن ملاحظة التشابه الكبير بين هذا البئر والتابوت مع مثيلتها تلك الموجودة أسفل الهرم المدرج.

ولعل من أهم العناصر المعمارية والزخرفية المميزة للمقبرة الجنوبية وجود عدد من الممرات السفلية التي يحتوي إحداها على ثلاثة أبواب وهمية يحمل كل منها نقش للملك زوسر في احتفال "حب سد"؛ وهو اليوبيل الملكي الذي كان يحتفل فيه بجلوس الملك على العرش وتجديد شباب الملك وشرعيته في تولي الحكم، حيث تصور المناظر الملك زوسر وهو يرتدى لحيته المستعارة والتاج الأبيض لمصر العليا، وتغطى جدران الممرات مجموعة رائعة من بلاطات الفيانس (القيشاني) الأزرق مماثلة لتلك التي تغطى الممرات السفلية تحت الهرم المدرج أيضاَ.

ولقد تعددت الآراء حول هذه المقبرة والغرض منها، حيث يُعتقد أنها ربما كانت تخص إحدى الزوجات الرئيسيات للملك، أو خصصت لحفظ المشيمة الملكية أو الأعضاء الداخلية للملك (الرئتين والمعدة والأمعاء والكبد) بعد تحنيطه، في حين يرى عالم المصريات الفرنسي الشهير "جان فيليب لوير" صاحب النصيب الأكبر من أعمال الحفائر في مجموعة زوسر الهرمية وإعادة بناءها وترميمها على مدار 70 عامًا من حياته؛ أنها كانت تمثل مقبرة رمزية للملك تعادل المقبرة الملكية في أبيدوس (بمحافظة سوهاج).

بدأ مشروع ترميم المقبرة الجنوبية في عام ٢٠٠٦ ليشمل ترميم الممرات السفلية وتقوية الحوائط وتدعيم الأسقف وتثبيت بلاطات الفيانس لاستكمال العناصر الداخلية للمقبرة، كما تمت إعادة تجميع التابوت الجرانيتي في قاع البئر وترميمه، بالإضافة إلى تأهيل المقبرة للزيارة من خلال تمهيد الأرضيات وتركيب سلم يؤدي إلى البئر والمقبرة وإضاءتها بشكل كامل.

الموقع

The Southern Tomb  

The Southern Tomb  

The South tomb is located at the southwestern corner of the King Djoser funeral complex, dating to the 3rd Dynasty, Old Kingdom period. This magnificent complex is the oldest stone building of the ancient world. Basically, it was named the “Southern Tomb'” following its discovery by the English archaeologist Cecil Malaby Firth in 1928.

Significantly, the tomb is composed of an upper level in the form of a rectangular stone building. Its walls are decorated with a series of stone sockets in the form of entrances and exits, crowned by a frieze of cobra heads that symbolize protection and power.

The lower level of the tomb consists of an entrance towards a ramp leading to the burial chamber, which is located at the bottom of a great shaft measuring 7.5 x 7.5 m, and with a depth of approximately 31 m. It housesg a large sarcophagus made of 16 blocks of pink granite, each measuring approximately 3.60 metres high, 3.5 metres wide, and 3.6 metres long. urthermore, one can note the similarity between the shaft and the sarcophagus with those inside the step pyramid.

One of the most important architectural and decorative elements of the Southern Tomb are a series of corridors, one of which contains three false doors, each topped with exquisite reliefs depicting the king taking part in the Heb-Sed Festival. This was a vital event, a royal jubilee, with the aim of rejuvenating the king and renewing his right to rule. One can admire the king represented wearing the royal beard, as well as the White Crown of Upper Egypt. Several walls of the southern tomb’s corridors are decorated with the same blue faience tiles into the step pyramid.

Various theories have been proposed about this tomb, as it is believed that it belonged to the royal wife of the king, or that it was built in order to house the internal organs of the king (lungs, stomach, intestines and liver).

The famous French Egyptologist Jean-Philippe Lauer undertook many important excavations at Saqqara, including the restoration and reconstruction of Djoser’s Step Pyramid Complex throughout a period of over 70 years. Lauer believed that this South Tomb was a symbolic burial for the king’s soul, replacing the royal tomb at Abydos (in the Sohag governorate).

In 2006, restoration work of the South Tomb began. It involved conservation and restoration work of the lower corridors, strengthening of the walls and ceilings, fixing of the blue faience tiles to complete the interior inscriptions in the tomb, as well as  reassembling and restoring the granite sarcophagus. In addition, this conservation project also included the paving of floors and the installation of a ladder; installations of indoor and outdoor lighting provide the visitor an enhanced and enjoyable experience.

Location

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

From

08:00 AM

To

05:00 PM

Opening Hours