The mosque is located in al-Mu’iz Street, adjacent to Bab Zuwaila. Sultan Al-Mu’ayyad Sheikh founded it in 818 AH / 1415 AD. Al-Maqrizi described it by saying, “it encompasses beauty and is a witness to the grandeur of its construction. Its founder was the foremost king of his times.” The mosque underwent renovations at the end of the 19th century.
The mosque was characterised by its unique construction, as its two minarets were built over another monument, Bab Zuweila. This gate dates to the Fatimid period and is adjacent to the mosque. Both structures were integrated to create the mosque. Together, they formed a wonderful architectural unit. The western minaret bears the name of the mosque’s founder, Sultan Al-Mu’ayyad. The other records the name Muhammad ibn al-Qazzaz, a minaret’s employee.
Among the wonderful antiques that adorn this mosque is the large entrance door, which bears the name of Sultan Hassan. It is one of the most beautiful wooden doors panelled with copper. The Sultan moved this entrance from the Sultan Hasan Madrasa to this mosque.
The mosque itself consists of an open courtyard surrounded by four canopies, the largest of which is towards the qibla (prayer direction). The walls are decorated with marble, and the pulpit is inlaid with ivory and mother-of-pearl. The inscriptions state the name and titles of Sultan al-Mu’yyad.