المجموعة الهرمية للملك منكاورع

المجموعة الهرمية للملك منكاورع

قام الملك منكاورع (حوالي 2532 - 2503 ق.م) ببناء ثالث أهرامات هضبة الجيزة، وهو ابن خفرع وحفيد خوفو مع صغر مساحة قاعدة الهرم، يبلغ ارتفاع الهرم الأصلي 65 مترًا مما يجعل هرم منكاورع هو الأصغر. وكان هذا الصغر في الحجم يرجع إلى عدة عوامل منها صغر المساحة المتبقية على هضبة الجيزة، والمواد المستخدمة في الغلاف الخارجي لهرم منكاورع، حيث استخدم أسلافه الحجر الجيري لكساء أهرامهم، في حين استخدم منكاورع الجرانيت المجلوب من أسوان على بعد أكثر من 800 كم من الجيزة. وكانت تلك المادة أصعب بكثير من الحجر الجيري في الشحن والنقل. ومع ذلك فإن الربع السفلي من الهرم هو فقط المكسو بالجرانيت بينما كسي بقية الهرم بالحجر الجيري.

           مثلما كان بجوار الهرم الاكبر، يمكن رؤية ثلاثة أهرامات أصغر بجوار هرم منكاورع ، تلك الأهرامات التي كانت تستخدم لدفن ملكات عصره. ومع ذلك ، لم يتم اكتشاف الهريم الخاص به، ولكن يعتقد أن أكبر هرم الملكات الثلاثة كان هو الهريم.

           توفي منكاورع قبل الانتهاء من بناء مجموعته الهرمية، حيث لم يكن تم صقل الكثير من كتل الكساء الجرانيتي الخاص بالهرم. وكان من المفترض أن يتكون المعبد الجنائزي ومعبد الوادي الخاص من كتل ضخمة من الحجر الجيري المكسوة بالجرانيت، لكن تم البناء بهما فعليًا باستخدام الطوب اللبن الأبيض. على الرغم من ضعف تلك الامكانيات، إلا أن تقديس منكاورع استمرت لمدة 300 عام أخرى بعد وفاته.

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

الأجانب: كبار: 100 ج. م / طلبة : 50 ج. م بالإضافة لتذكرة دخول المنطقة المصريين/ العرب: كبار: 20 ج. م / طلبة : 5 ج. م بالإضافة لتذكرة دخول المنطقة

Pyramid Complex of Menkaure (Mykerinos)

Pyramid Complex of Menkaure (Mykerinos)

Menkaure (Mykerinos to the ancient Greeks; c.2532–2503 BC) is the builder of the third of the three large Giza Pyramids. He was most likely the son of Khafre (Khefren), and grandson of Khufu (Cheops). With a base area that is less than a quarter of their pyramids’, and with an original height of 65 meters, Menkaure’s is by far the smallest of the three. This reduction in size is due to several factors, including the limited amount of space left on the Giza Plateau. The material used for the outer casing of Menkaure’s pyramid is another. Whereas his predecessors had used limestone for this purpose, Menkaure employed granite, which was quarried in Aswan, over 800 km away. In addition to the logistics involved in transportation of the granite blocks, the material itself is much harder than limestone. However, only the bottom quarter of the casing stones are made of granite however, the rest being limestone.

          Like the Great Pyramid, three smaller pyramids can be seen next to Menkaure’s as well, which were used for the burials of his queens. No satellite pyramid has been discovered, however, but it is believed that the largest of the three queens’ pyramids was in fact originally intended to have been the satellite pyramid.

           Menkaure died before his pyramid complex was completed, and much of the pyramid’s granite casing blocks were not smoothed. His mortuary and valley temples were intended to consist of colossal limestone blocks encased in granite, but were actually completed with whitewashed mudbrick. Despite this, however, the mortuary cult of Menkaure was practiced for another 300 years after his death.

Location

Tickets

FOREIGNERS: Adult: EGP 100 / Student: EGP 50 AREA ENTRY TICKET REQUIRED EGYPTIANS/ARABS: Adult: EGP 20 / Student: EGP 5 AREA ENTRY TICKET REQUIRED