مسجد ومدرسة السلطان حسن

مسجد ومدرسة السلطان حسن

يعتبر مسجد ومدرسة السلطان حسن من أضخم مساجد مصر عمارة وأعلاها بنياناً، حيث أنشأه السلطان حسن بن الناصر محمد بن قلاوون في الفترة  ما بين عامي (757هـ/1356م) و(765هـ/1363م), وتقع هذه المدرسة في نهاية شارع محمد علي أمام جامع الرفاعي بميدان القلعة (ميدان صلاح الدين)  .

يذكر المؤرخ المقريزى فى كتاباته عن بناء المسجد الذى يرجع إلى القرن الخامس عشر الميلادى مشيراً إلى أن الأوبئة التي أثرت على السكان في ذلك الوقت حالت دون إستكمال بناء المسجد , تجاوز إجمالى تكلفة المشروع المليون دينار . نظرًا لأن المشروع تم تنفيذه على هذا النطاق الهائل مما جذب العديد من الصناع والحرفيين من مختلف أقاليم الدولة المملوكية.

 وقد إستخدم مسجد السلطان حسن كحصن نظرا لقربة من القلعة إذ كانت تطلق من فوق سطحه المجانق على القلعة عندما تثور الفتن بين أمراء المماليك البرجية مما دفع بعض سلاطين المماليك إلى التفكيرفى هدمه بصورة جدية .

يتكون المسجد من صحن (ساحة مفتوحة) أوسط مكشوف، ويحيط بالصحن أربعة إيوانات "مساحة مربعة أو مستطيلة مغلقة من ثلاثة أضلاع ومفتوح ضلعها الرابع بالكامل", وفي زوايا الصحن الأربعة يوجد أربعة أبواب توصل إلى المدارس الأربعة خصصت لتدريس المذاهب الأربعة.

 تعرض المسجد للعديد من عمليات الترميم وإعادة البناء على مر العصور حتى القرن العشرين كمعظم المعالم الإسلامية في القاهرة, وأهم ما يميز المسجد القباب الداخلية والخارجية ذو الزخارف الرائعة تصميمها المعمارى المميز والذى ربما أستوحى من الفنون والعمارة الأرمينية.

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

تذكرة شاملة الأجانب : كبار: 80 ج.م / طلبة: 40 ج.م تسمح التذاكر الشاملة بالدخول إلى جامع الرفاعى. المصريين/العرب: تذكرة شاملة كبار: 0 ج.م / طلبة: 0 ج.م

Mosque and Madrasa of Sultan Hasan

Mosque and Madrasa of Sultan Hasan

The Mosque and Madrasa of Sultan Hasan is one of the largest and architecturally exquisite mosques in all of Egypt. It was commissioned by the Mamluk sultan Hasan ibn al‑Nasir Muhammad ibn Qalawun sometime between 757 AH/1356 AD and 764 AH/1363 AD, and is located at the end of Muhammad Ali Street, opposite its nineteenth century neighbor al‑Rifa’i mosque in Midan al‑Qal’a (Salah al‑Din Square).

          The historian al‑Maqrizi, writing in the fifteenth century, reports on the construction of the mosque, stating that the plagues that affected the population at the time did not put an end to the completion of the mosque. The total cost of the project exceeded one million dinars. Because the project was executed on such a massive scale, it attracted many artisans and craftsmen from different provinces of the Mamluk empire.

          Its proximity to the citadel ultimately resulted in its use as a fort by enemies several times throughout its history. Some sultans seriously considered demolishing it because enemy armies would use the mosques high platforms to launch attacks on the citadel.

          Like most Islamic monuments in Cairo, this one has also undergone several phases of reconstruction, up until the twentieth century. The interior and exterior domes of the mosque are extremely ornate, and their designs may have been inspired by Armenian art and architecture.

          A monumental iwan opens up on each of the four sides of the interior square courtyard. An iwan is a vaulted rectangular space that is open on one side. Doorways at the four corners of the courtyard allow access into four madrasas, educational institutions, where the four Sunni Islamic schools were taught.

Location

Tickets

Area entry: FOREIGNERS: Adult: EGP 80 / Student: EGP 40 Inclusive tickets allowing entry into Al-Rifa'i Mosque. EGYPTIANS/ARABS: Adult: EGP 0 / Student: EGP 0