مقبرة حورمحب

مقبرة حورمحب

يعد حورمحب (حوالي ١٣٢٣-١٢٩٥ ق.م) آخر ملوك الأسرة الثامنة عشرة. وقبل صعوده إلى العرش، في عهد توت عنخ آمون (حوالي 1336–1327 ق.م)  كان احد أكبر القادة العسكريين في عصره، وحمل ألقاب أخرى رفيعة المستوى كـ "نائب الملك في أرض بأكملها"، وتم دفنه في نهاية المطاف في وادي الملوك بما يلائم وضعه الملكي. وقبل ذلك، بدأ حور محب بشكل طبيعي في بناء مقبرة أخرى في سقارة.

تلك المقبرة هي الأكبر في جبانة الدولة الحديثة جنوبي الطريق الصاعد للملك أوناس (حوالي 2375 - 2345 ق.م). مثل المقابر الرئيسية الأخرى في تلك الجبانة، يظهر تصميم المقبرة بطراز المقبرة المعبد تقليداً معابد الدولة الكبرى المعاصرة لها. وتبدأ المقبرة بصرح يسبق فناءين مفتوحين يليهما الحجرات الداخلية للمقصورة ، حيث كانت تم ممارسة طقوس تقديم القرابين لحور محب. أما الحجرة الوسطى فكان يعلوها هريم وهو رمز شمسي للبعث وإعادة الولادة. وكانت حجرة الدفن الواقعة تحت الأرض يتم الوصول إليها من خلال بئر عمودي مقطوع عبر أرضية الفناء الداخلي. وقد تم اكتشاف بقايا عظام لجنين إلى جانب هيكل عظمي لأنثى  ربما كانت "موت نجمت" زوجة حورمحب في مقبرته بجبانة منف وهو ما دل على أنها لم تستخدم.

تشمل النقوش التي تزين تلك المقبرة  مشاهد تصور حورمحب وهو يقوم بنشاطاته، حيث يظهر مجموعة من ممثلي الحكام الأجناب وهم يتوسلون أمام توت عنخ آمون ، بينما يظهر حور محب بدور الوسيط. وهناك منظران يدلان على مدى مكانته الرفيعة حتى قبل صعوده إلى العرش، حيث يظهر متبوعًا بصفوف من الأسرى الأجانب وهو يتقلد مكافأته وهي ذهب الشجاعة من قبل توت عنخ آمون نفسه، فكان يتم منح ذهب الشجاعة من قبل الملوك لمسؤوليهم مقابل خدماتهم الاستثنائية. كما تم تزيين المقبرة بمناظر جنائزية أيضًا ، منها طقسة فتح الفم.

لم يكن موقع تلك المقبرة معروفًا، حيث تم اكتشافها في أوائل القرن التاسع عشر ضمن العثور على الجبانة من قبل لصوص المقابر وتجار التحف الذين سرقوا وباعوا ما عثروا عليه للمتاحف وجامعي التحف بالخارج. ولم تكن تلك السرقات مقصورة على التماثيل وغيرها من القطع المنقولة فحسب، ولكن تمت إزالة أجزاء كاملة من جدران المقابر  ولم يتم تسجيل أي منها. وقد تأثرت مقبرة حورمحب بشكل خاص، حيث اندثر مكانها. ولحسن الحظ ، تم اعادة اكتشافها مرة أخرى ضمن جبانة الدولة الحديثة في عام 1975.

الموقع

Memphite Tomb of Horemheb

Memphite Tomb of Horemheb

Horemheb (c.1323–1295 BC) was the last king of the Eighteenth Dynasty. Prior to his ascension to the throne, during the reign of Tutankhamun (c.1336–1327 BC), he was the highest‑ranking military officer in the realm, and held other titles as lofty as “the King’s Deputy in the Entire Land”. He was ultimately buried in the Valley of the Kings as would befit his royal status. Before this, however, Horemheb had naturally begun work on another tomb, in Saqqara.

          This tomb is the largest in the New Kingdom cemetery south of the causeway of the Fifth Dynasty King Unas (c.2375–2345 BC). Like the other major tombs in this cemetery, it is a temple‑tomb, so named because it reflects the structure of contemporary great state temples. It is entered through a pylon gateway preceding two open‑air courtyards that themselves precede the inner rooms of the chapel, where Horemheb’s cult was practised. The central room was surmounted by a pyramid, a solar symbol of rebirth. The burial chamber was underground, accessed through a vertical shaft cut through the floor of the inner courtyard. The discovery of the bones of a fetus along with a female skeleton, possibly of Horemheb’s wife Mutnedjmet, in his Memphite tomb shows that it did not go unused.

The reliefs in this tomb include scenes depicting Horemheb carrying out his duties. One scene shows representatives of foreign rulers pleading before Tutankhamun, with Horemheb acting as intermediary. Two scenes in particular show his exalted status prior to his rise to kingship. Here, he is depicted followed by rows of foreign captives, being publicly rewarded with the Gold of Honor by Tutankhamun himself. The Gold of Honor was awarded by kings to their officials for exceptional service. The tomb is decorated with funerary scenes as well, one of which depicts the Opening of the Mouth ritual.

            The location of this tomb was not always known. It was discovered in the early 19th century, when this area of Saqqara was explored by tomb‑robbers and art dealers, who then sold their findings to museums and collectors abroad. These were not limited to statues and other portable objects. Entire sections of wall relief were removed, and none of the provenance was recorded. Horemheb’s Memphite tomb was particularly affected, and its location was subsequently forgotten. Thankfully, it and the New Kingdom cemetery were eventually rediscovered in 1975.

Location