مدرسة وقبة الصالح نجم الدين أيوب

مدرسة وقبة الصالح نجم الدين أيوب

 

واحدة من أهم المنشآت المعمارية الباقية من العصر الأيوبي، تقع في منطقة بين القصرين من شارع المعز لدين الله، عُرفت بالمدرسة الصالحية، شيدها السلطان الملك الصالح نجم الدين أيوب سنة 641ه/ 1243م بغرض تدريس المذاهب الأربعة بدلًا من المذهب الشيعي الذي كان يدرسه الفاطميون من قبل.

فلكل مذهب مكان خاص بداخل المدرسة، وتعد هذه المدرسة الأولى من نوعها لتدريس المذاهب السنية في مصر، ومن أهم ما يميز هذه المدرسة احتفاظ واجهتها الرئيسية بزخارفها الفنية ومئذنتها المميزة التي تعلو المدخل، ولم يتبق من المدرسة حاليًا سوى الإيوان الغربي (إيوان المذهب المالكي).

يرجع تاريخ إنشاء القبة الضريحية الملاصقة للمدرسة إلى عام647ه/ 1249م والتي شيدتها السلطانة شجر الدر زوجة الملك الصالح وذلك بعد وفاة زوجها خلال الحروب الصليبية في المنصورة، الذي دُفن في قلعة الروضة إلى أن إكتمل بناء القبة ونقل إليها فى عام 648ه/ 1250م.

وللقبة واجهة واحدة رئيسية بها مدخل على شارع المعز يعلوه لوحة عليها كتابات تشير إلى تاريخ وفاة الملك الصالح، و تمثل المقصورة الخشبية بداخل القبة  نموذج فريد من نوعه للتحف الخشبية في العصر الأيوبي بزخارفها الكتابية المحيطه بها.

الموقع

Madrasa and Mausoleum of al-Saleh Najm al-Din Ayyub

Madrasa and Mausoleum of al-Saleh Najm al-Din Ayyub

 This is one of the most important architectural installations daring to the Ayyubid period.  It is located between al-Qasrayn  (“the two palaces) on Al-Mu’izz Street. Built in the year 641 AH / 1243 AD, it became known as the Salhiyya Madrasa, referring to its eponym Sultan Al-Malik Al-Salih Najm Al-Din Ayyub. The madrasa taught the four Sunni jurisprudence schools, replacing the Shi’ite curriculum that had been in place under the Fatimid Dynasty.

Each of the four jurisprudence schools has its own allocated area inside the madrasa. This was the first institution of its kind to teach all four of the jurisprudence schools. One of the madrasa’s most important features is its main façade and distinctive minaret above the entrance. Only the western iwan, in which the Malik madhhab was taught, survives.

The Mausoleum was built in 647AH\ 1249 AD by Shajarat al-Dur, wife of Sultan Najm al-Din Ayyub, she commissioned the structure for her husband following his death in the battle against the Crusaders in Mansura. He was buried in al-Rawda Citadel and later removed to the mausoleum when it was completed in 648 AH\ 1250 AD. 

The dome has one main façade with an entrance overlooking al-Mu’izz Street. A plaque above the main entrance records the date of the Sultan’s death. The wooden cabin inside the dome is a good example of Ayyubid wooden antiques. 

 

Location