This complex is located on al-Mu’izz street. It was established by Sultan Sayf al-Din Qalawun in 683-684 AH/ 1283-1284 AD. It is one of the most beautiful architectural complexes in Egypt dating to the Mamluk period. It consists of a mosque, a school, a burial, and a hospital (bimaristan is a Persian word that means “house of the ill”). Its various entrances are all characterized by unique designs, using gold and silver gilding as well as a number of geometric and floral motifs. The hospital treated people who suffered from nervous and psychological disorders. It now serves as an eye and dentistry hospital.