بيت هوارد كارتر بمدينة طيبة

بيت هوارد كارتر بمدينة طيبة

الأقصر

صمم عالم الآثار البريطاني هوارد كارتر هذا البيت وشيّده بالطوب اللبن في عام 1910. وكان يسكن فيه عندما اكتشف هو وراعيه اللورد كارنرفون ومعاونوهما المصريون والأجانب مقبرة توت عنخ آمون عام 1922. كان موقع البيت مناسبًا لأعمال التنقيب التي كان يقوم بها في جبانة طيبة القديمة ووادي الملوك. ظل هذا البيت مقرًا لكارتر في الأقصر حتى وفاته في عام 1939، وقد عُرف هذا الموقع محليًا باسم "علوة الدبان" (تل الذباب).

شُيّد البيت حول قاعة مركزية تعلوها قبة، وكان يضم غرفتي نوم وقاعات لممارسة العمل وغرفة معتمة لأنشطة التصوير وغرفًا للخدم. عاش كارتر في هذا البيت عندما لم تكن هناك أية مياه جارية أو كهرباء أو هاتف أو حديقة. وضع كارتر في بيته آنذاك أثاثًا بسيطًا محلي الصنع إلى جانب أعماله الفنية ومجموعة صغيرة من الآثار. وللأسف لم يتبق منها سوى عدد قليل من الصور وبعض الملامح الداخلية.

ترك كارتر بيته لمتحف المتروبوليتان للفنون في نيويورك تقديرًا للدعم الذي قدمه المتحف له في أعمال التنقيب عن مقبرة توت عنخ آمون. انتقلت ملكية البيت بعد ذلك إلى هيئة الآثار المصرية التي قامت بتوسعته جهة الغرب، واستخدمت المبنى مقرًا لإقامة مفتشي وعلماء الآثار.

تحوّل بيت كارتر إلى متحف في عام 2009. كما قامت مؤسسة "فاكتوم آرت" بإنشاء نسخة طبق الأصل من مقبرة توت عنخ آمون بأرض البيت وأهدتها إلى وزارة الآثار في عام 2014. خضع بيت كارتر والحدائق لأعمال الترميم في عام 2022 بمناسبة مرور مائة عام على اكتشاف كارتر المُذْهل.

   

الموقع

Haward Carter and His House at Thebes

Haward Carter and His House at Thebes

Luxor

The British archaeologist Howard Carter designed and built this mudbrick house in 1910. It was his home when he, his patron Lord Carnarvon, and their Egyptian and international collaborators discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun in 1922. Conveniently sited for his excavations in the Theban necropolis and the Valley of the Kings, this remained Carter’s Luxor base until his death in 1939. The chosen location was known locally as Ulwit al-Dibban (Hill of the Flies).

The house was built around a domed central hall and contained two bedrooms, work spaces, a photographic darkroom, and servant quarters. During Carter’s lifetime the house had no running water, electricity, telephone, or garden. Carter furnished it plainly with locally made furniture, his own artworks, and a small collection of antiquities; sadly few photographs or descriptions of the interior survive.

Carter bequeathed his house to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, in recognition of the help the museum had given him with the excavation of the tomb of Tutankhamun. The house passed to the Egyptian Service des Antiquités, who subsequently added an extension to the west and used the building as accommodation for antiquities inspectors and archaeologists.

Carter House was converted into a museum in 2009. A replica of the tomb of Tutankhamun, made and donated by Factum Arte, was installed in the grounds in 2014. The house and gardens were restored in 2022 for the centenary of Carter’s great discovery.

Location