The house is located in al-Darb Al-Asfar lane in al-Gamaliyya in al-Mu’izz street. It is one of the most beautiful examples of Cairo’s domestic architecture. It consists of several buildings overlooking a sizeable picturesque courtyard. The facades are plotted with wonderful wooden mashrabiyyas (wooden grilled windows). The house also contains a large Meqead (seated balcony) and a furnished reception hall.
Shaykh Abd al-Wahhab al-Tablawi established this house in 1058 AH / 1648 AD. The second and later section was set by Haji Ismail Chelebi in 1211 AH / 1796 AD. Shaykh Shihab al-Din Ahmad al-Suhaimi bought it in 1228 AH / 1813 AD. He was a senior scholar of al-Azhar University and the Shaykh of the Turkish riwaq in the Ottoman Period. The house is named after him.
In 1349 AH / 1931 AD, al-Suhaimi’s heirs sold this house to the Committee for the Preservation of Arab Antiquities for the sum of six thousand pounds.
Among the house’s unique elements are the birthing chair, the bathroom, and the wells that provided water to the house. A waterwheel irrigated the garden, and its wooden gear survives. There is a mill activated by a bull. Nearby, pottery and stone vessels preserved grains.