The mosque is located in al-Mu’iz Street, adjacent to Bab Zuwaila. It was founded by Sultan Al-Mu’ayyad Sheikh in 818 AH / 1415 AD. Al-Maqrizi described it by saying, "it encompasses beauty and is a witness to the grandeur of its construction. Its founder was the foremost king of his times.” The mosque underwent several renovations at the end of the nineteenth-century.
The mosque itself consists of a main open courtyard surrounded by four canopies, the largest of which is the positioned towards qibla (prayer direction). The walls are paneled with marble and the pulpit is inlayed with ivory and mother of pearl. The inscriptions on it give the name and titles of Sultan al-Mu’yyad.
The mosque was characterized by its unique construction, whereby its two minarets were built over another monument, Bab Zuweila, which dates to the Fatimid period and is adjacent to the mosque. Both of structures were integrated to create the mosque. Together, they formed a wonderful architectural unit. The western minaret bears the name of the mosque’s founder, and the other records the name Muhammad ibn al-Qazzaz, the minaret's employee.
Among the wonderful antiques that adorn this mosque is the large entrance door, which bears the name of Sultan Hassan. It is one of the most beautiful wooden doors paneled with copper. The Sultan moved this entrance from the Sultan Hasan Madrasa to this mosque.