Located in al-Muizz street, the mosque was established in 1255 AH/ 1839 AD by Sulayman Agha Silahdar, one of Muhammad Ali Pasha’s princes. The mosque’s main facade overlooks al-Muizzstreet. It is made of stone with wooden, ornamented projecting bracket. A marble foundation slab surmounts the entrance. Another slab hangs on the facade of the sabil, recording the foundation date and the patron in Turkish.
The mosque's rectangular plan is divided into two square. The outer, western square includes a central court surrounded by four porticos surmounted by small shallow domes supported on marble columns. The covered court has a wooden roof at the centre of which is an octagonal dome (shukhshikha). The eastern square consists of the qiblaiwanand contains three arcades parallel with the qiblawall. A wooden ceiling with simple ornamentation covered this section. There is a unique prayer nichecarved out of a single block of marble lies in the centre of the qiblawall. It is flanked by two golden friezes from marble. A plain wooden pulpit is placed beside the prayer niche. The western wall facing the qiblais occupied bydikket al-mobaligh (wooden repeater platform) in the north eastern corner of the court, which can be reached by a ladder in the northern east side of the court.
The minaret is attached to the main facade, near the entrance, and is executed in the Ottoman style. It consists of two levels and rises as a straight, ribbed tower, ending in a point. The structure resembles a pencil. A sabil-kuutab with a marble, circular facade is annexed to the mosque. It contains four windows with copper grills.