The house is located in al-Darb al-Asfar Lane in al-Gamaliyya in al-Muizz Street. It is one of the most beautiful examples of Cairo’s domestic architecture. Shaykh Abd al-Wahhab al-Tablawi established the first part of this house in 1058 AH / 1648 AD. The second and later section was set by Haji Ismail Chelebi in 1211 AH / 1796 AD, then he merged the two parts into one house. The house named after the last resident, Shaykh Muhammad Amin al-Suhaymi, who was a senior scholar of and the Shaykh of the Turkish riwaq of al-Azhar mosque in the Ottoman Period.
In 1349 AH / 1931 AD, al-Suhaymi heirs sold this house to the Committee for the Preservation of Arab Antiquities for the sum of six thousand pounds.
It consists of several buildings overlooking a sizable picturesque courtyard. The facades are plotted with wonderful wooden mashrabiyyas (wooden grilled windows). The house also contains a large Maq'ad (seated balcony) and a furnished reception hall.
Among the house’s unique elements are the birthing chair, the bathroom, and the wells that provided water to the house. A waterwheel irrigated the garden, and its wooden gear survives. There is a mill activated by a bull. Nearby, pottery and stone vessels preserved grains.