Al-Muizz Street is named after the Fatimid Caliph, al-Muizz li-Din Allah (341–365 AH / 953–975 AD), who first founded this street. He is also the founder of the Fatimid caliphates in Egypt since he ruled Egypt in (358-365AH\ 969-975AD). Today, it is the largest open-air museum for Islamic monuments in the world, and a unique heritage site that was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1979. The street has borne many names over the centuries, and in 1937 it came to be known as al-Muizz in honour of the founder of Cairo.
The historical street stretches between two of the gates of Cairo’s old city walls, from Bab al-Futuh in the north to Bab Zuwayla in the south, passing along many of the significant and uniquely preserved ancient alleys and streets, such as Amir al-Guyush Street, Darb al-Asfar, Borgowan Alley, Khan al-Khalili, and al-Ghuriyya.
Twenty-nine monuments dotting the length of al-Muizz allow visitors to experience Islamic Egypt from the 10th to 19th centuries, starting from the Fatimid Period in Egypt (358–567 AH / 969–1171 AD) to the Muhammad Ali Dynasty (1220–1372 AH/ 1805–1953 AD). These monuments include buildings of various types, such as those that had a religious, domestic, commercial, or defensive function. Today, markets, vendors, and local crafts stores line up along al-Muizz street, adding to the charm of this historic street.