Sunken Monuments

Saadana Island

Saadana Island

Sadana Island, on the Red Sea coast north of Safaga, is home to a shipwreck that offers us a rare glimpse into 18th Century trade. This area in the sea is difficult to navigate due to its shallow waters and multitude of corals, which is probably the reason the ship sank in the 1760’s.

The ship was 50 meters long and was carrying about 900 tons of cargo. Excavations revealed that the ship was carrying Chinese Qing Dynasty porcelain that was fashioned for the Middle East. Many spices were also found aboard the ship including pepper, cardamom and nutmeg from India; frankincense from Oman; as well as, coconuts, olives and hazelnuts among other things.

The ship does not resemble other ships from this period, and so its origin remains unknown. However, its contents shed light on the intensive and far reaching trade that occurred during this time, and Egypt’s ports as the link between the east and the west.

Location

الآثار الغارقة

جزيرة سعدانة

جزيرة سعدانة

تحتضن جزيرة سعدانة الواقعة على ساحل البحر الأحمر شمالي سفاجا حطام سفينة تعرض لنا لمحة نادرة عن حركة التجارة في القرن الثامن عشر الميلادي، حيث يصعب الإبحار في هذه المنطقة بسبب المياه الضحلة وانتشار الشعاب المرجانية التي ربما كانت السبب في غرق تلك السفينة في حاولي عام 1760م.

بلغ طول السفينة المكتشفة 50م، وكانت تحمل حوالي 900 طن من البضائع مثل خزف صيني من عهد أسرة تشينغ لتسويقه في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، كما عثر على العديد من أنواع التوابل كالفلفل والهيل وجوزة الطيب من الهند، واللبان من عُمان، بالإضافة جوز الهند، والزيتون، والبندق، وغيرها من البضائع.

ولا يشبه طراز تلك السفينة غيره من الطرز التي ميزت السفن في هذه الفترة التاريخية، لذلك فما زال أصلها غير معروف، غير أن محتوياتها قد سلطت الضوء على حركة التجارة المكثفة خلال تلك الفترة بين أقاليم متباعدة وموانئ مصر باعتبارها الرابط بين الشرق والغرب.

الموقع