Tomb of Ramesses VI (KV9)

Tomb of Ramesses VI (KV9)

This tomb was begun by King Ramesses V (c.1147–1143 BC) of the Twentieth Dynasty. Although it is uncertain whether he was ultimately buried here, it is clear that his uncle Ramesses VI (c.1143–1136 BC) enlarged the tomb and used it for his burial.

          The tomb is simple in plan, essentially consisting of a series of descending corridors that lead deep underground, in a straight line to the burial chamber. The exquisitely painted sunk relief walls are very well preserved. A decline in the quality of the decoration since the Nineteenth Dynasty (c.1295–1186 BC) is evident, however.

          The tomb’s decorative programme consists of various funerary texts to help the king in his successful transition to the afterlife. The first descending passages are decorated with the Book of Gates, Book of Caverns, and Books of the Heavens. The passages beyond bear scenes from the Amduat, the Book of the Dead, and the Books of the Heavens, and scenes from the Book of the Earth adorn the burial chamber. All ceilings are decorated with astronomical scenes and texts. Some of these funerary texts are collections of spells, and others are maps of the underworld, describing the sun god’s daily nocturnal journey through it. Through them, just like the sun god, the king could achieve a glorious rebirth in the eastern horizon at dawn.

Location

Tickets

FOREIGNERS: Adults: EGP 100 / Student: EGP 50 EGYPTIANS/ARABS: Adults: EGP 30 / Student: EGP 10

مقبرة الملك رمسيس السادس (KV9)

مقبرة الملك رمسيس السادس (KV9)

بدأ انشاء هذه المقبرة فى عهد الملك رمسيس الخامس (حوالي 1147 – 1143 ق.م.) من الأسرة العشرين. على الرغم من أن دفنه فيها غير مؤكد، ولكن على ما يبدو أن عمه رمسيس السادس (حوالي 1413 -1136 ق.م.) قد قام بتوسيع المقبرة واستخدمها لدفنه.

كان تخطيط المقبرة بسيط؛ حيث تتكون من مجموعة من الممرات الهابطة فى خط مستقيم تؤدي إلى حجرة الدفن فى العمق تحت الأرض، وكانت نقوشها فى حالة جيدة من الحفظ، ولكن من الواضح انخفاض مستوى النقوش عن الأسرة التاسعة عشرة ( حوالي 1295 – 1186 ق.م.).

تحتوى مناظر المقبرة على العديد من النقوش الجنائزية التي تساعد الملك فى الانتقال بسلام إلى الحياة الأخرى، فقد زينت أولى الممرات الهابطة بكتاب البوابات وكتاب الكهوف وكتاب السماء، وزينت الممرات التى تليها بمناظر من الأمدوات، وكتاب الموتى، وكتاب السماء، بينما زينت حجرة الدفن بمناظر من كتاب الأرض. زينت الأسقف بمناظر ونقوش فلكية بعض هذه النصوص الجنائزية هي عبارة عن مجموعات من التعاويذ، والبعض الآخر عبارة عن خرائط للعالم السفلي، تصف رحلة إله الشمس الليلية اليومية خلاله، والتى تمكن الملك من ضمان إعادة ولادته فى الأفق الشرقى عند الفجر مثل إله الشمس.

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

الأجانب : كبار : 100 ج.م/ طلبة: 50 ج.م المصريين/العرب: كبار: 30 ج.م / طلبة: 10 ج.م