Tomb of Pennut

Tomb of Pennut

Pennut was an important official during the reign of the 20th Dynasty king Rameses VI (c. 1143–1136 BC). Although his tomb stands today here, in New Amada, it was originally located 25 km west, in Aniba. Because of its beautiful decoration and great historical value, it was rescued from the rising waters of Lake Nasser in 1964. As the Deputy of Wawat (the ancient Egyptian name for Lower Nubia), Pennut played a key role in Nubia. He was also Overseer of the Temple of Horus of Aniba, where his wife Takha was a singer.

 

His beautiful tomb reflects his important status, which is highlighted further by the east wall (on the right), where the king was depicted—a very high honour. This scene, which is unfortunatly poorly preserved, shows Pennut being rewarded by Rameses VI (figure destroyed) for, as the accompanying text reveals, Pennut having commissioned a statue of him. In another interesting inscription, the temple of Rameses II at al-Derr is mentioned.

 

In the rest of the tomb decoration, Pennut can be seen adoring various deities, and there are many scenes from the Book of the Dead, their goal being to ensure that Pennut and Takha lead a blissful existence in the afterlife. A niche in the centre of the north wall contains three rock-cut figures, the central one being a female cow-headed deity.

Location

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

From

07:00 AM

To

05:00 PM

Opening Hours

مقبرة بِنوت

مقبرة بِنوت

كان بنوت مسئولًا مهما في عهد أحد ملوك الأسرة العشرين رمسيس السادس (حوالي 1143 – 1136ق.م). على الرغم من أن مقبرته هنا حاليًا في عمدا الجديدة، إلا أنها كانت تقع في الأصل على بعد25كم غربًا في عنيبة. وبسبب زخارفها الجميلة وقيمتها التاريخية العظيمة، تم إنقاذها من ارتفاع منسوب مياه بحيرة ناصر عام 1964. بصفته نائب «الواوات» (الاسم المصري القديم للنوبة السفلى)، لعب بنوت دورًا رئيسيًا في النوبة، كما كان مشرفًا على معبد حورس بعنيبة، بينما كانت زوجته تاخا مغنية.

تعكس مقبرته الجميلة مكانته المهمة، والتي يبرزها الجدار الشرقي (على اليمين)، حيث تم تصوير الملك وهو شرف عظيم للغاية. يٌظهر هذا المنظر، الذي لم يتم الحفاظ عليه بشكل جيد للأسف، بنوت وهو يكافأ من قبل رمسيس السادس (تم تدمير الشكل) كما يظهر في النص المصاحب، أنه كلف بنوت بإقامة تمثال له. وفي نقش آخر ورد ذكر معبد رمسيس الثاني في الدر.

في بقية مناظر المقبرة، يمكن رؤية بنوت وهو يتقرب إلى العديد من المعبودات، وهناك العديد من المشاهد من كتاب الموتى، وهدفهم هو التأكيد على أن بنوت وتاخا يعيشون حياة سعيدة في العالم الآخر. نجد تجويف في وسط الجدار الشمالي يحتوي على ثلاثة تماثيل منحوتة في الصخر، وسطها معبودة أنثى برأس بقرة.

الموقع

الأحد

الإثنين

الثلاثاء

الأربعاء

الخميس

الجمعة

السبت

من

07:00 صباحا

إلى

05:00 مساء

ساعات العمل