Tomb of Mereruka

Tomb of Mereruka

Mereruka was vizier during the reigns of Kings Teti (c.2345–2323 BC) and Pepy I (c.2321–2287 BC). As vizier, the highest-ranking official, and husband of a daughter of Teti’s, Mereruka was a very powerful and wealthy man. It is all the more significant that he held this title during the reigns of the first two rulers of the Sixth Dynasty, a time when the elite’s power had grown substantially.

          Mereruka was buried in a mastaba to the north of the pyramid of Teti in Saqqara. Reflecting his status, it is among the largest in the Teti cemetery, and among the most exquisitely decorated tombs of the Old Kingdom (c.2686–2181 BC). The rooms inside the mastaba were often the venue for the performance of the cult for the soul of the tomb owner. Mereruka’s massive mastaba contains a total of thirty rooms, including five for his wife, and another five for his son.

           Many beautiful scenes adorning the walls of this tomb provide insight into life during the Old Kingdom, such as the herding of cattle through marshes, the harpooning of hippopotami, and fishing and fowling scenes, all of which are shown in amazingly vivid detail. Also shown are scenes of animals being force-fed, although exceptionally hyenas are depicted among them. A unique scene depicts personifications of the three seasons of the ancient Egyptian calendar. The focal point of the entire tomb was the false-door. In Mereruka’s mastaba, a life-size statue of him steps out, ready to receive the offerings that were set on the offering table before him.

Location

Tickets

FOREIGNERS: Adult: EGP 80 / Student: EGP 40 EGYPTIANS/ ARABS: Adult: EGP 20 / Student: EGP 5

مقبرة مريروكا

مقبرة مريروكا

كان مريروكا  وزيراً في عهد الملكين تتي (2345- 2323 ق.م) وببي الأول (2321-2287 ق.م). وباعتباره وزيراً بالاضافة لكونه زوج ابنة الملك تتي كان مريروكا صاحب سطوة ونفوذ كبير، وهي الفترة التي بدأ فيها زيادة نفوذ طبقة كبار رجال الدولة خلال نهاية الأسرة السادسة.  

          تم دفن مريروكا في مقبرة على شكل مصطبة شمالي هرم تتي بسقارة، وتعتبر واحدة من أكبر مقابر عصر الملك تتي كما أنها الأروع من حيث المناظر والزخارف التي تزينها من بين مقابر الدولة القديمة (2686- 2181 ق.م) وتضم مقبرة مريروكا نحو ثلاثين حجرة تتضمن خمس لزوجته وخمس لابنه وهي الحجرات التي كان يقام فيها طقوس لأرواح المتوفين.

             تتضمن جدران المقبرة العديد من المناظر الشيقة والتي تعرض لنا الحياة اليومية خلال الدولة القديمة مثل مناظر مثل رعي الماشية بالاحراش، وصيد فرس النهر، ومناظر صيد والطيور  والتي تظهر كلها بتفاصيل حية بشكل مثير للدهشة. نرى أيضًا مناظر تغذية للحيوانات، من بينها منظر تغذية الضباع وهو منظر فريدة من نوعه. ومن المناظر الرائعة والنادرة نرى منظر يصور تجسيد لفصول العام الثلاثة بالتقويم المصري القديم. أم النقطة المحورية بالمقبرة هي ما يعرف باباب الوهمي، ومن النقاط الجذابة بالمقبرة تمثال لمريروكا بالحجم الطبيعي يتقدم بخطوة من أجل استقبال القرابين المقدمة له على مائدة القرابين.

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

الأجانب : كبار: 80 ج.م/ طلبة: 40 ج.م المصريون/العرب: كبار: 20 ج.م / طلبة: 5 ج.م