The Temple of Bastet

The Temple of Bastet

The temple of Bastet is one of the main cult temples of the goddess "Bastet" in the Old Kingdom, which was associated with fertility and often acted as a protective deity. Originally, Bastet was depicted as a lioness, and later as a cat.
According to the Greek historian "Herodotus" who visited “Per Bastet” in the 5th century BC, that despite other temples being more grandiose in appearance, none was more beautiful than the temple of "Bastet". This temple would have been surrounded by two channels and lined with trees, thus allowing a wonderful view of the city.
During the 22nd Dynasty, when Per Bastet became the capital of Egypt, the temple of Bastet was extended, and as a result, a lot of material from earlier structures was re-used. The oldest of these are two red granite blocks dating to the reign of the 4th Dynasty king Khufu (c.2589–2566 BC) and king Khafre (c.2558–2532 BC).
Additions to this temple were continued by the second king of the 22nd Dynasty, Osorkon I (c.924–889 BC), with his name appearing frequently at the entrance of the temple. The site contained a monumental gate beyond the peristyle courtyard. This was built by Osorkon II, and decorated with scenes of him celebrating the Heb Sed Festival.
In the far west, there is a long colonnade that leads to a hypostyle hall, also built by Osorkon II, and which contains papyrus and Hathor columns. The far west end of the temple, which comprised the Holy of Holies in the complex (the sanctuary), was renewed by the last Egyptian king of the 30th and final Dynasty, King Nectanebo II (360–343 BC).

 

Location

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

From

09:00 AM

To

05:00 PM

Opening Hours

معبد باستت

معبد باستت

يعد معبد "باستت" أحد المعابد الرئيسية التي كُرست لعبادة الالهة "باستت" في الدولة القديمة، والتي ارتبطت بخصوبة المرأة، كما كانت بمثابة معبودة واقية وحامية. وفي الأصل، كان يتم تصويرها على هيئة أنثى الأسد ثم قطة فيما بعد.
وفقا للمؤرخ اليوناني "هيرودوت" الذي زار "بر باستت" في القرن الخامس قبل الميلاد، أنه بالرغم من وجود معابد أخرى أكبر وأعظم شأننا من معبد "باستت"، إلا إنه لا يوجد واحد من هذه المعابد يسر الناظر برؤيته أكثر من هذا المعبد، حيث يحيط بالمعبد قناتان وتصطفان على جانبيه الأشجار، مما يسمح بإطلالة رائعة على المدينة.
خلال عصر الأسرة الثانية والعشرين، عندما أصبحت بر باستت عاصمة لمصر، تم توسيع معبد باستت، وأعيد استخدام الكثير من المواد من المباني السابقة. ومن أقدمها كتلتين من الجرانيت الأحمر من عهدي كل من الملك خوفو (2589-2566 ق.م) والملك خفرع (حوالي 2558-2532 ق.م) من الأسرة الرابعة.
وتوالت الإضافات على المعبد في الأسرة الثانية والعشرين من قبل الملك أوسوركون الأول (924-889 ق.م)، والذي ظهر اسمه عند مدخل المعبد. كما كان ينتصب خلف الفناء بوابة ضخمة لأوسوركون الثاني مزينة بمناظر له وهو يحتفل بعيد الحب سد أو عيده الثلاثين.
وفي أقصى الغرب يؤدي رواق طويل إلى قاعة أعمدة بناها أوسوركون الثاني بأعمدة من حزم البردي وأعمدة ذات تيجان حتحورية، كما تم تجديد الطرف الغربي الأقصى للمعبد، والذي كان يضم قدس الاقداس، من قبل آخر الملوك المصريين في عصر الأسرات آخر ملوك الأسرة الثلاثين، الملك نختنبو الثاني (360 –343 ق.م).

الموقع

الأحد

الإثنين

الثلاثاء

الأربعاء

الخميس

الجمعة

السبت

من

09:00 صباحا

إلى

05:00 مساء

ساعات العمل