The Great Sphinx

The Great Sphinx

Colossal statues are one of the hallmarks of ancient Egyptian civilization, and the Great Sphinx of Giza is the most famous. It was carved directly out of the bedrock during the Fourth Dynasty (c.2613–2494 BC), which also makes it the oldest. Ancient Egyptian sphinxes represented the king with the body of a lion, in a clear demonstration of his power.

            The evidence points to the Great Sphinx having been carved during the reign of Khafre (Khefren to the ancient Greeks; c.2558–2532 BC), the builder of the second of the Giza pyramids. The Great Sphinx and the temple in front of it, called the Sphinx Temple, lie directly next to Khafre’s valley temple and the lower portion of the causeway leading up to his mortuary temple and pyramid. Careful archaeological analysis has revealed that the valley temple was finished before work was begun on the Great Sphinx and its temple. Analysis of the Great Sphinx’s facial features has also revealed striking similarities with those of Khafre’s statues.

            The Great Sphinx has captured the imagination of travelers and explorers for millennia, even in ancient Egyptian times. During the Eighteenth Dynasty (c.1550–1295 BC), it came to be seen as a manifestation of the sun god, and was called Horemakhet “Horus in the Horizon”. King Amenhotep II (c.1427–1400 BC) built a temple next to the Sphinx, which he dedicated to this god. His son, Thutmose IV (c.1400–1390 BC), erected a monumental stela between its front paws, called the Dream Stela, on which he recorded a fascinating event.

Location

Tickets

FOREIGNERS: EGP 100 AREA ENTRY TICKET REQUIRED EGYPTIANS/ARABS: EGP 100 AREA ENTRY TICKET REQUIRED

أبو الهول

أبو الهول

تعتبر التماثيل الضخمة واحدة من السمات المميزة للحضارة المصرية القديمة، وتمثال أبو الهول في الجيزة هو أكثرها شهرة. تم نحت التمثال فى صخر المنطقة نفسها في عهد الأسرة الرابعة (2613-2494 ق.م.) مما يجعله الأقدم . كانت تماثيل أبي الهول المصرية القديمة تمثل الملك بجسد أسد كإشارة واضحة  لقوته.

تشير الدلائل إلى أن تمثال أبي الهول قد تم نحته في عهد الملك خفرع (حوالي عام 2525 - 2532 ق.م.) ، صاحب ثاني أهرام الجيزة. يقع تمثال أبو الهول ومعبده الموجود أمامه بجوار معبد وادي خفرع مباشرة والجزء السفلي من الطريق الصاعد المؤدي إلى معبده الجنائزي والهرم. كشف التحليل الأثري الدقيق أن معبد الوادي قد انتهى قبل بدء العمل في تمثال أبو الهول ومعبده، بينما كشف تحليل ملامح وجه أبو الهول عن أوجه تشابه مذهلة مع تماثيل الملك خفرع.

استحوذ تمثال أبو الهول على خيال المسافرين والمستكشفين لآلاف السنين ، حتى في العصور المصرية القديمة، فخلال الأسرة الثامنة عشرة (1550-1295 ق.م.) ، أصبح ينظر إليه على أنه مظهر من مظاهر إله الشمس ، وكان يطلق عليه حور إم آخت "حورس في الأفق"، وبنى الملك أمنحتب الثاني (حوالي 1427-1400 ق.م.) معبدًا بجانب تمثال أبو الهول كرسه لهذا الإله، كما قام ابنه تحتمس الرابع (1400- 1390 ق.م.)، بتشييد لوحة ضخمة بين أقدامه الأمامية ، والتي يطلق عليها اسم لوحة الحلم ، والتي سجل فيها حدثًا رائعًا.

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

الأجانب: 100 ج. م. بالإضافة لتذكرة دخول المنطقة المصريون / العرب: 100 ج. م بالإضافة لتذكرة دخول المنطقة