The Great Pyramid

The Great Pyramid

The Great Pyramid is the tomb of King Khufu (c.2589–2566 BC), rendered "Cheops" by the Greeks. With its original height of 146.5 meters, it was the tallest structure in the world for 3,800 years. The Great Pyramid still remains the last surviving member of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, and took an estimated to 10 to 20 years to build. To this day, it is not entirely certain how this was done.

            The Great Pyramid is made of local limestone, but its exterior was once entirely covered with high quality limestone. These casing stones were brought from Tura, south of Maadi, by ship. On the inside, the pyramid has three chambers, one cut into the bedrock underneath, and two high up within the masonry itself, a feature that no other pyramid possesses. The sarcophagus in which Khufu was once laid to rest can still be seen in the upper of these two rooms, the King’s Chamber. This room is accessed through the Grand Gallery, a majestic corbelled ascending passage, and a masterpiece of ancient engineering and architecture.

            Two large and impressive ships were discovered in pits on the south side of the pyramid in a dismantled state. These are believed to have been used to transport the royal mummy and burial equipment to the tomb. The eastern ship has since been reconstructed, and is on display in the Boat Museum, directly above the pit in which it was found.

Location

Tickets

FOREIGNERS: Adult: EGP 400 / Student: EGP 200 AREA ENTRY TICKET REQUIRED EGYPTIANS/ARABS: Adult: EGP 80 / Student: EGP 40 AREA ENTRY TICKET REQUIRED

الهرم الأكبر

الهرم الأكبر

كان الهرم الأكبر أو المعروف بهرم الملك خوفو (2589-2566 ق.م)، مع ارتفاعه الأصلي البالغ 146.5 م، أطول مبنى في العالم طيلة 3800 عام، كما لا يزال عجيبة من عجائب الدنيا السبع في العالم القديم والباقية حتى الآن. وقد استغرق بناء الهرم ما بين 10 إلى 20 عامًا. وحتى اليوم، ليس لدينا معلومات مؤكدة حول الطريقة التي بني بها الهرم الأكبر.

           بني الهرم الأكبر من الحجر الجيري المحلي في حين كان مغطى قديماً بالكامل بكساء من الحجر الجيري عالي الجودة، وقد تم جلب أحجار الكساء من محاجر طرة عن طريق مراكب تصل حتى الهرم. ويضم الهرم من الداخل ثلاث حجرات دفن، احدها مقطوعة أسفل الصخر السفلي ، واثنتان على ارتفاع داخل المبنى نفسه، وهو أمر ينفرد به هرم خوفو لا يمتلكه هرم آخر. ويمكن للزائر رؤية التابوت الذي كان يرقد فيه الملك خوفو بالحجرة العلوية المعروفة باسم حجرة الملك، حيث يمكن الوصول إلى هذه الحجرة من خلال البهو العظيم  وهو ممر ذا سقف متدرج مهيب الحجم يعتبر تحفة في الهندسة المعمارية القديمة.

           تم اكتشاف مركبين كبيرين مفككين داخل حفر بالجانب الجنوبي من الهرم الأكبر، كان يعتقد أنها استخدمت لنقل مومياء الملك والأثاث الجنائزي إلى الهرم. وقد تم إعادة تركيب المركب الشرقي، وهي معروضة في متحف مركب خوفو بجوار الهرم والمبني  فوق الحفرة التي عثر عليها فيها.

 

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

أجنبى: كبار: 400 ج. م./ طلبة: 200 ج. م. بالإضافة لتذكرة دخول المنطقة المصريون / العرب: كبار: 80 ج. م./ طلبة: 40 ج. م. بالإضافة لتذكرة دخول المنطقة