Open Air Museum

Open Air Museum

The successive excavations at the city of Bubastis (Tell Basta) have revealed many artifacts of different sizes and ranging to different time periods. As well as many monuments at the site have led it to become an open air museum, which includes the black granite head of goddess Bastet in the form of a lioness.
In addition, one can find archaeological remains from the monumental gateway of the temple of Bastet, which was built by the 22nd Dynasty king Osorkon II (c.874–850 BC). This structure was entirely covered with depictions of Osorkon II celebrating the Heb Sed Festival. Generally, this purely royal festival aimed to rejuvenate the king and renew his royal power.
At the site there are also a large amount of stone fragments bearing the names and epithets of kings. A sandstone block depicts a standard with human arms surmounted by the Ka-hieroglyph (in the shape of two upraised arms), and a king’s Horus Name was written inside. Although it was fragmentary, it contained the Horus Name of King Nectanebo II / Nekhthorhebyt (360–343 BC), the last king of the 30th and final Dynasty.
The open air museum also includes a group of statues of kings and deities. The most prominent is the red granite statue of the 19th Dynasty King Ramesses II (c.1279–1213 BC) standing between the goddess Hathor and the god Ptah. This in turn is found near a group of Graeco-Roman Period column capitals following the Corinthian style.

Location

المتحف المفتوح 

المتحف المفتوح 

كشفت أعمال الحفائر المتتالية على مدينة بوباستس (تل باسطا) عن العديد من القطع الأثرية المختلفة الأحجام والفترات الزمنية المنسوبة إليها، فضلا عن العديد من المعالم الأثرية الموجودة في الموقع الذي أصبح وكأنه حديقة متحفية، ومن ضمنها وتمثال للإلهة باستت من الجرانيت الأسود على هيئة رأس أنثى الأسد.

بالإضافة إلى أجزاء من البوابة الأثرية لمعبد باستت، التي بناها ملك الأسرة الثانية والعشرون "أوسركون الثاني" (حوالي 874 - 850 ق.م). وتمت تغطية هذا الهيكل بالكامل بصور له وهو يحتفل باحتفالات "حب-سد"، وكان يهدف هذا الاحتفال الملكي إلى تجديد شباب الملك وسلطته الملكية.

فضلا عن العديد من الكسرات التي تحمل أسماء وألقاب الملوك، ومنها كتلة من الحجر الرملي بها شكل "الكا" بالهيروغليفية (والتي تأخذ شكل ذراعين مرفوعين)، وكان اسم الملك الحوري مكتوباً بداخلها. وعلى الرغم من أن هذا الجزء مهشم لكن من الواضح أنه احتوى أيضا على الاسم الحوري للملك "نختنبو الثاني/ نخت حورحبت" (360-343 ق.م)، وهو آخر ملوك الأسرة الثلاثين.

 كما يضم المتحف المفتوح عدد من تماثيل الملوك والآلهة، ومن أبرزها التمثال الجرانيتى الأحمر للملك "رمسيس الثانى" (1279-1213 ق.م) من الأسرة التاسعة عشر، وهو واقفا بين الإلهة حتحور والإله بتاح. وأيضا مجموعة من تيجان أعمدة من العصر اليوناني الروماني التي تنتمي إلى النظام الكورنثي.

الموقع