Muhammad Ali Mosque

Muhammad Ali Mosque

The Mosque of Muhammad Ali is located inside the Citadel of Salah al‑Din al‑Ayyubi (Saladin) in Cairo. It was built by Muhammad Ali Pasha (1220–1264 AH/1805–1848 AD), the founder of the Muhammad Ali Dynasty (1220–1372 AH/1805–1953 AD), on the site of Mamluk palaces. He had these demolished to make room for his new building, which is also known as the "Alabaster Mosque", in reference to its marble paneling on its interior and exterior walls. The mosque’s twin minarets are the highest in all of Egypt, each reaching a height of 84 meters.

The outer open court contains a copper clock tower, which was gifted to Muhammad Ali Pasha by Louis Philippe of France in 1262 AH/1845 AD. Muhammad Ali Pasha reciprocated the gesture with an obelisk of Ramesses II’s (c.1279–1213 BC) that stood in front of Luxor Temple. Today, it stands in the Place de la Concorde Square, Paris.

Limestone is the mosque’s main building material. Its square plan consists of a central dome supported by four half‑domes, with an additional four smaller domes in the corners of the building. There are two minbars (pulpits) inside the mosque. The original of the two is made of wood decorated in green. The other was a later addition made of marble.

The beautiful white marble mausoleum of Muhammad Ali Pasha is situated in the southwestern corner of the mosque, to the right of the entrance.

Location

Tickets

Entry free of charge

مسجد محمد علي

مسجد محمد علي

يقع جامع محمد علي داخل قلعة صلاح الدين بالقاهرة، وقد أمر بإنشائه محمد علي باشا (1220-1264هـ/1805-1848م)مؤسس أسرة محمد على (1220-1372هـ/ 1805-1953م) فى موضع القصور المملوكية التى هدمها لإفساح المجال لبناءه الجديد, والذى عرف بـ (جامع الألبستر) إشارة إلى الألواح الرخامية التى كسيت بها جدارنه الداخلية والخارجية ,و تعتبر مئذنتا الجامع هما الأعلى بمصر حيث يبلغ ارتفاع كل منهما 84 مترًا.

يوجد بصحن الجامع  برج من النحاس بداخله ساعة دقاقة كان قد أهداها لويس فيليب ملك فرنسا إلى محمد علي باشا (1262هـ/ 1845م)، وقد رد محمد على باشا على هذه اللفتة بإهدائه مسلة رمسيس الثانى(حوالي 1279-1213 ق.م)التى كانت قائمة أمام معبد الأقصر وتقف اليوم شامخة فى ميدان الكونكورد فى باريس .

استخدم الحجر الجيرى كمادة أساسية فى بناء الجامع الذى يتكون من مساحة مربعة غطيت بقبة مركزية ضخمة مدعمة بأربعة أنصاف قباب بالإضافة إلى أربعة قباب صغيرة فى الأركان, وللجامع منبران أحدهما من الخشب المطلى باللون الأخضر وهو المنبر الأصلى للجامع أما الآخر فهو من الرخام وقد أضيف إلى الجامع لاحقاً .

على يمين الداخل وبالركن الجنوبى الغربى للجامع يقع ضريح محمد على باشا والذى بنى بالرخام الأبيض الجميل .

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

الدخول مجاناً