Madrasa and Mausoleum of al-Saleh Najm al-Din Ayyub

Madrasa and Mausoleum of al-Saleh Najm al-Din Ayyub

This is one of the most important architectural installations dating to the Ayyubid period.  It is located between al-Qasrayn (the two palaces) on al-Muizz Street. Built in the year 641 AH / 1243 AD, it became known as the Salhiyya Madrasa, referring to its eponym Sultan  al-Salih Nagm al-Din Ayyub. This madrasa was the first institution of its kind to teach all four schools of jurisprudence, replacing the Shi’ite curriculum that had been in place under the Fatimid Dynasty.​ Each of the four schools of jurisprudence has its own allocated area inside the madrasa.

The main façade and distinctive minaret above the entrance still surive. Only the western iwan, in which the Malik madhhab was taught, remains standing.

The mausoleum was built in 647 AH\ 1249 AD by Sultana Shajarat al-Durr, wife of Sultan Najm al-Din Ayyub. She commissioned the structure for her husband following his death in the battle against the Crusaders in Mansura. He was buried in al-Rawda Citadel and later removed to the mausoleum when it was completed in 648 AH\ 1250 AD.

The dome has one main façade with an entrance overlooking al-Muizz Street. A plaque above the main entrance records the date of the Sultan’s death. The wooden cabin inside the dome is a good example of Ayyubid wooden antiques.

 

Location

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

From

09:00 AM

To

03:00 PM

Opening Hours

مدرسة وقبة الصالح نجم الدين أيوب

مدرسة وقبة الصالح نجم الدين أيوب

 

واحدة من أهم المنشآت المعمارية الباقية من العصر الأيوبي، تقع في منطقة بين القصرين من شارع المعز لدين الله. عُرفت بالمدرسة الصالحية حيث بدأ في إنشائها السلطان الملك الصالح نجم الدين أيوب في عام 641هـ/ 1243م. تعد هذه المدرسة هي الأولى من نوعها لتدريس المذاهب السنية في مصر حيث أنشئت لتدريس المذاهب الفقهية الأربعة بدلًا من المذهب الشيعي الذي كان يدرسه الفاطميون من قبل، وكان لكل مذهب مكان خاص بداخل المدرسة.

 من أهم ما يميز هذه المدرسة احتفاظ واجهتها الرئيسية بزخارفها الفنية ومئذنتها المميزة التي تعلو المدخل، ولم يتبق من المدرسة حاليًا سوى الإيوان الغربي (إيوان المذهب المالكي).

يرجع تاريخ إنشاء القبة الضريحية الملاصقة للمدرسة إلى عام 647هـ/ 1249م والتي شيدتها السلطانة شجر الدر زوجة الملك الصالح وذلك بعد وفاة زوجها خلال الحروب الصليبية في المنصورة، الذي دُفن في قلعة الروضة إلى أن اكتمل بناء القبة ونقل إليها فى عام 648هـ/ 1250م.

وللقبة واجهة واحدة رئيسية بها مدخل على شارع المعز يعلوه لوحة تحمل كتابات تشير إلى تاريخ وفاة الملك الصالح. تمثل المقصورة الخشبية بداخل القبة نموذج فريد من نوعه للتحف الخشبية في العصر الأيوبي بزخارفها الكتابية المحيطه بها.

الموقع

الأحد

الإثنين

الثلاثاء

الأربعاء

الخميس

الجمعة

السبت

من

09:00 صباحا

إلى

03:00 مساء

ساعات العمل