Ben ‘Ezra Synagogue

Ben ‘Ezra Synagogue

Ben ‘Ezra Synagogue is the oldest synagogue in Egypt. It was once the center of many celebrations, congregations and prayers, but is no longer in use today. The origin of the building is uncertain. Some believe that it was once a Coptic Orthodox Church that was sold to members of Egypt’s Jewish community in 882 AD. The synagogue is named after Abraham ibn ‘Ezra, the Jewish religious scholar and philosopher.
Ben ‘Ezra contains all the main features of a synagogue. The bimah, or pulpit, from which prayers were read is in its center. The most sacred feature of a synagogue, the hekhal, which marks the direction of prayer, is decorated in Arabesque style and inlaid with mother of pearl, displaying a merge of artistic traditions. The Ten Commandments are inscribed on it in Hebrew.

          Every synagogue keeps a geniza, a repository for old documents mentioning the name of God, which could not be simply discarded. Ben ‘Ezra’s was especially large. It had accumulated documents over a span of 850 years. This treasure of historical documents was discovered by Europeans in 1888, and is now housed in libraries around the world. The Cairo Geniza, as it is known today, includes many rare and previously unknown documents.

Location

معبد بن عزرا

معبد بن عزرا

يعتبر معبد بن عزرا أقدم معبد يهودي في مصر. وكان هذا المعبد مركزًا للعديد من الاحتفالات والتجمعات والصلوات، لكنه لم يعد مستخدما اليوم. يعتقد البعض أنها كانت ذات يوم كنيسة قبطية أرثوذكسية تم بيعها لأفراد الجالية اليهودية في مصر عام 882م، وقد تم تسمية المعبد على اسم عزرا العالم الديني والفيلسوف اليهودي.

عند زيارة المعبد اليوم، سوف تجد المعالم الرئيسية له كلها في مكانها، حيث يقف البيما أو المنبر حيث تقرأ الصلوات في منتصف المعبد، اما الهيكل والذي يمثل اتجاه الصلاة وأقدس عنصر في المعبد اليهودي فيظهر مزخرف بأسلوب الأرابيسك ومطعم بعرق اللؤلؤ في دمج للتقاليد الفنية المختلفة، أما الوصايا العشر فمكتوبة على الهيكل باللغة العبرية.

يحتفظ كل معبد بمخزن خاص بالوثائق يعرف اسم الجنيزا، حيث يتم تخزين الوثائق غير المرغوب فيها التي تضم اسم الرب، وكان لدى بن عزرا جينيزا كبير يضم العديد من الوثائق المتراكمة على مدى 850 عامًا. وقد تم اكتشاف هذا الكنز من الوثائق التاريخية في عام 1888م، وتناثرت تلك الوثائق الآن في العديد من المكتبات في جميع أنحاء العالم، وأصبح هذا الاكتشاف معروفًا باسم جينيزا القاهرة حيث يحتوي على العديد من الوثائق النادرة والتي لم يسبق معرفتها.

 

 

الموقع