Second Intermediate Period

1650 BC
/
1550 BC

Already during the Twelfth Dynasty in the Middle Kingdom, large numbers of migrants from the Levant (the area of Palestine, Lebanon, and Syria) had started to come into Egypt. Most settled in the north-eastern Delta. A contemporary text names one of their leaders Heqa khasut “the ruler of foreign lands”. This word is more familiar to us today in its Hellenized (Greek) form, Hyksos. It is unknown how they came to power, but the weaker Thirteenth Dynasty was unable to prevent this from happening, and they moved their capital from Itj-Tawy in the north to Thebes (modern Luxor) in Upper Egypt, away from the sphere of influence of the Hyksos.

          Thus began the Second Intermediate Period. The Hyksos Fifteenth Dynasty, based in Avaris (modern Tell al-Dab’a) in the north-eastern Delta, controlled most of the country in the north, down to al-Qusiya (ancient Qis, Greek Kusai or Cusae) in Middle Egypt, including even Memphis. The Nubian Kerma culture, on the rise, controlled the south. Between them and the Hyksos, a line of local kings in Upper Egypt, centered around Thebes, remained. An obscure Fourteenth Dynasty, based in Khois (modern Sakha, near Kafr al-Sheikh) in the central Delta, appears to have co-existed with the Hyksos, at least at first, before being absorbed by them. Another, short-lived, dynasty, also appears to have been based in Abydos.

          Ancient Egyptian culture thrived under the Hyksos, as did their own, native, West Semitic culture of the Bronze Age Levant. Many aspects of this culture are apparent in Avaris, such as the style of pottery and weaponry, house layout, and burial customs. Their tombs, for example, were located within living areas, rather than in a cemetery outside of the city.

          It is not known what marked the transition from the Thirteenth Dynasty, which had moved from Itj-Tawy to Thebes, to the Sixteenth, which itself then transitioned to the Seventeenth. Both of these dynasties were quite militaristic, however, and their power grew over time. The later Seventeenth Dynasty kings were wealthy, experienced, and powerful enough to wage war against the Hyksos. Kings Seqenenre Taa and Kamose, most likely his son, made great progress. The former appears to have died as a result of his campaigning. His son, Ahmose II, captured formerly Hyksos territories, managed to sack Avaris, and expulsed the Hyksos. He then made conquests in southern Palestine, and south in Nubia.

          These events mark the beginning of the Eighteenth Dynasty and beginning of the New Kingdom, Egypt’s age of empire. The Second Intermediate Period had long-lasting effects on Egyptian history. New technologies were introduced into Egypt, such as Near Eastern musical instruments and board games, an improved potter’s wheel, new crops, and new military technology, most importantly composite bows and the horse and chariot. The Hyksos’ control of most of Egypt left an indelible mark on the psyche of the ancient Egyptians: Foreign conquest was a very real threat, and border fortresses alone were insufficient to safeguard Egypt’s borders. The kings of the New Kingdom would pursue an aggressive expansionist policy.

Second Intermediate Period

عصر الانتقال الثاني

1650 ق.م.
/
1550 ق.م.

خلال الأسرة الثانية عشرة بالدولة الوسطى، بدأت أعداد كبيرة من المهاجرين من بلاد الشام (منطقة فلسطين ولبنان وسوريا) في الوصول إلى مصر. استقر معظمهم في شمال شرق الدلتا. وعرفنا من أحد النصوص المعاصرة لتلك الفترة أنه اطلق على احد قادة هؤلاء المهاجرين لقب "حكا خاسوت" أي حاكم الأراضي الأجنبية"، وهي الكلمة المألوفة أكثر لنا اليوم في شكلها الإغريقي "الهكسوس". ولا نعرف كيف وصل الهكسوس إلى السلطة، لكن الأسرة الثالثة عشرة الأضعف لم تكن قادرة على منع هذا الأمر، حيث نقلت الاسرة الوطنية عاصمتهم من إيتت تاوي في الشمال إلى طيبة (الأقصر الحديثة) في صعيد مصر ، بعيدًا عن دائرة نفوذ الهكسوس.

          هكذا بدأ عصر الانتقال الثاني على يد أسرة الهكسوس الخامسة عشرة الذين أسسوا عاصمتهم في أواريس (تل الضبعة الحديثة) في شمال شرق الدلتا ونجحوافي السيطرة على معظم أنحاء البلاد بداية من في الشمال وصولاً إلى القوصية (قيص القديمة كوساي باليونانية) في مصر الوسطى بما فيها مدينة منف. في المقابل كانت الحضارة النوبية بمنطقة كرما آخذة في التقدم ونجحت في السيطر على الجنوب. وبين كلي الدولتين، بقي مجوعة من الملوك المحليين في صعيد مصر يسيطرون على محيط طيبة. ويبدو أن الأسرة الرابعة عشرة الغامضة والمتمركزة في خويس (ساخا الحديثة بالقرب من كفر الشيخ) في وسط الدلتا ، قد تعايشت مع الهكسوس على الأقل في البداية قبل أن تتلاشى. ويبدو أن أسرة أخرى لم تدم طويلاً كانت متمركزة في أبيدوس.

          تطورت الثقافة المصرية القديمة في ظل حكم الهكسوس، وكذلك العصر البرونزي لسكان بلاد الشام. تتجلى جوانب كثيرة من هذه الثقافة في أواريس مثل أسلوب الفخار والأسلحة وتخطيط المنزل وعادات الدفن. فعلى سبيل المثال كانت مقابرهم تقع داخل مناطق المعيشة ، وليس في مقبرة خارج المدينة كما كان في السابق.

          من غير المعروف ما الذي يميز حركة الانتقال من الأسرة الثالثة عشرة التي انتقلت من إيتت تاوي إلى طيبة خلال السادسة عشرة التي انتقلت هي نفسها إلى السابعة عشرة. كل من هذه الأسرات كانت عسكرية تماما ، ومع ذلك ، نمت قوتهم مع مرور الوقت. كان ملوك الأسرة السابعة عشرة أثرياء وذوي الخبرة والقوة الكافية لشن حرب ضد الهكسوس. حقق الملكان تاعا سقنن رع و ابنه كاموس، تقدما عسكرياً كبيرا. ويبدو أن الأول قد استشهد خلال إحدىالمعارك ضد الهكسوس. حينها نجح صعد ابنه أحمس في استرداد الأرض من الهكسوس وتمكن من

احتلال أواريس وطرد الهكسوس من البلاد، ولم يكتف بذلك بل قام بغزوات في جنوب فلسطين وأخرى جنوبًا في النوبة.

تمثل هذه الأحداث بداية الأسرة الثامنة عشرة وبداية الدولة الحديثة وعصر الإمبراطورية المصرية. كان لعصر الانتقال الثاني آثار طويلة الأمد على التاريخ المصري، حيث تم إدخال تقنيات جديدة في إلى مصر من الشرق الأدنى مثل الآلات الموسيقية والألعاب وعجلة الفخار المتطورة ومحاصيل زراعية جديدة وتكنولوجيا عسكرية حديثة أهمها الأقواس المركبة والخيول والعربة الحربية. ترك عصر الهكسوس في نفوس المصريين بمعظم أنحاء البلاد علامة لا تمحى حيث كان الغزو الأجنبي تهديدًا حقيقيًا للغاية، ولم تكن حصون الحدود وحدها كافية لحماية حدود مصر. حينها انتهج ملوك الدولة الحديثة سياسة توسعية قوية.

عصر الانتقال الثاني