Tell-Basta

Tell-Basta

Al-Sharkia

Tell Basta gets its name from the ancient Egyptian Per-Bastet “the house of goddess Bastet”, which was the cult center for the feline goddess Bastet, who in turn was associated with female fertility, as well as playing a main protective role.

Per-Bastet was the capital of the 18th Lower Egyptian nome (province) during the New Kingdom period (c.1550–1069 BC). It was also the capital of the country during the 22nd Dynasty (c.945–715 BC).

Its strategic position at the eastern Delta, made it an important trade hub through which travelers could trade caravans to and from the Sinai and beyond. Most importantly, Bubastis was visited by the Holy Family during their journey to Egypt.

Per Bastet is also features the temple of Bastet and the statue of Queen Meritamun, the once daughter and then wife of Ramesses II (c.1279–1213 BC). In addition, one can also find the remaining pillars of the 6th Dynasty temple of Pepi I (c.2289–2255 BC), a large palace of Amenemhat III (c.1855–1808 BC), and remains from a well dating to the Roman Period.

Tell Basta has a long history of excavations undertaken by both Egyptian and foreign missions. Édouard Naville excavated the temple of Bastet between 1887 and 1889. Labib Habachi discovered the temple of Pepi I in 1939. A colossal palace of Amenemhat III was excavated by the teams of the Supreme Council of Antiquities and Zagazig University directed by Shafiq Farid in the 1960s, by Ahmed el-Sawi around a decade later, and then by Mohammed Ibrahim Bakr in the late 1970s and 1980s.

Location

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

From

09:00 AM

To

03:00 PM

Opening Hours

Tickets

FOREIGNERS: ِAdult: 60 EGP Student: 30 EGP Camera Holder: 20 EGP Photography (for personal use):50EGP Photography with mobile phone is free of charge Free entry for children under 6 years old EGYPTIANS/ARABS: ِAdult: 10 EGP Student: 5 EGP Camera Holder: 10 EGP Photography (for personal use):20EGP Photography with mobile phone is free of charge Free entry for children under 6 years old

تل بسطا

تل بسطا

الشرقية

يشتق اسم تل بسطا من الكلمة المصرية القديمة "بر- باستت"، وكانت المركز الرئيسي لعبادة "باستت"؛ وهي الإلهة القطة التي ارتبطت بخصوبة المرأة، ولعبت دوراً أساسيا في الحماية.

 كانت بر باستت عاصمة الإقليم الثامن عشر لمصر السفلى في عصر الدولة الحديثة (حوالي 1550-1069 ق.م) وعاصمة البلاد خلال الأسرة الثانية والعشرين (945-715 ق.م).

كما أدى موقعها بشرق الدلتا في مدينة الزقازيق الحديثة بمحافظة الشرقية إلى جعلها مركزاً تجارياً مهماً يمر من خلاله المسافرون والقوافل التجارية من وإلى سيناء وما وراءها، وأبرزها زيارة العائلة المقدسة لبوباستس أثناء رحلتها إلى مصر.

 وتعد بر باستت موقعاً للعديد من المعالم الأثرية، ومنها معبد باستت وتمثال الملكة "مريت آمون" زوجة "رمسيس الثاني" (1279-1213 ق.م). بالإضافة إلى معبد الأسرة السادسة لـ "ببي الأول" (حوالي 2321 - 2287 ق.م)، وقصر أمنمحات الثالث (1855-1808 ق.م)، وبئر من العصر الروماني.

تل بسطا لها تاريخ طويل من الحفائر التي قامت بها بعثات مصرية وأجنبية. حيث عمل إدوارد نافيل" في معبد باستت بين عامي 1887 و1889م. ثم استمرت أعمال الحفائر والتنقيب بقيادة "لبيب حبشي" ، والتي أسفرت عن اكتشاف معبد "ببي الأول" عام 1939م. كما تم اكتشاف قصر امنمحات الثالث من قبل بعثة المجلس الأعلى للآثار وجامعة الزقازيق بقيادة "شفيق فريد" في الستينيات، و"أحمد الصاوي" بعد حوالي عقد من الزمان، ثم "محمد الصاوي" بعد ذلك، و"إبراهيم بكر" في أواخر سبعينيات وثمانينيات القرن الماضي. 

 

الموقع

الأحد

الإثنين

الثلاثاء

الأربعاء

الخميس

الجمعة

السبت

من

09:00 صباحا

إلى

03:00 مساء

ساعات العمل

أسعار التذاكر

الأجانب كبار: 60 ج.م طلبة: 30 ج.م حامل كاميرا: 20 ج.م التصوير الفوتوغرافي: 50 ج. م استخدام كاميرا المحمول مجانا الدخول مجانا للأطفال حتى 6 سنوات المصريون/ العرب كبار: 10 ج. م طلبة: 5 ج. م حامل كاميرا: 10 ج. م التصوير الفوتوغرافي : 20 ج. م استخدام كاميرا المحمول مجانا الدخول مجانا للأطفال حتى 6 سنوات