Philae

Philae

Aswan

The monuments of Philae include many structures dating predominantly to the Ptolemaic Period (332–30 BC). The most prominent of these is a temple begun by Ptolemy II Philadelphus (285–246 BC), which he dedicated to Isis, the mother of Horus, the god of kingship. A scene in mammisi, or birth room, where the birth of Horus was celebrated, depicts Isis suckling her son Horus in the marshes.

            The temple of Isis was one of the last ancient Egyptian temples to remain active, as it continued to function until the reign of the Byzantine Emperor Justinian I (527–565 AD), who ordered the foreclosure of all pagan temples. It is here that a priest of Isis named Esmet-Akhom carved the very last dated hieroglyphic inscription, which dates to the late 4th century AD (394 AD). The temple was converted into a Christian church and many inscriptions were deliberately destroyed.

Nearby, there also is a temple dedicated to Hathor built by Ptolemy VI Philometor (180–145 BC) and Augustus, the first emperor of Rome (30 BC–14 AD). The Kiosk of Trajan (98–117 AD), which used to front the temple complex of Philae, still stands strong, despite its roof having disappeared. Its regular arrangement of columns made it an aesthetic delight and was regularly described or depicted by travelers to the island. Isis is once again central to this cult, as the emperor is shown making offerings to her, her consort Osiris, and their son Horus.

All these monuments were relocated from the original Philae island to the nearby island of Agilkia during the UNESCO Nubia Campaign in the 1960’s to rescue sites flooded by the construction of the Aswan High Dam.

Location

Tickets

FOREIGNERS: Adult: EGP 140 / Student: EGP 70 EGYPTIANS/ARABS: Adult: EGP 20 / Student: EGP 5

فيله

فيله

أسوان

تشمل آثار فيله العديد من المباني التي يعود تاريخها إلى العصر البطلمي (332-30 ق.م.)، وأبرزها ذلك المعبد الذى بدأه بطلميوس الثانى فيلادلفوس (285 – 246 ق.م.)، والذى كان مكرساً لإيزيس أم حورس رب الملكية، وهناك منظر فى الماميزى أو حجرة الولادة، حيث كان يتم الاحتفال بولادة حورس، تظهر فيها إيزيس وهى ترضع ابنها حورس فى الأحراش.

يعتبر معبد إيزيس واحداً من أكثر المعابد المصرية القديمة استمراراُ؛ حيث ظل المعبد يؤدى دوره حتى عهد الملك البيزنطي جستنيان (527 – 565 م.) والذي أمر بإغلاق كل المعابد الوثنية، حيث نقش كاهن يدعى اسمت-اخوم آخر نص هيروغليفي ويرجع ذلك إلى القرن الرابع الميلادي (394 م.). تم تحويل المعبد إلى كنيسة مسيحية وتم تدمير العديد من نقوش المعبد.

يقع بجوار معبد إيزيس معبداً مكرس لحتحور بناه بطلميوس الرابع فيلوماتور (180 – 145 ق.م.)، وأغسطس أول إمبراطور لروما (30 ق.م. – 14م.). ولا تزال مقصورة تراجان (98 – 117 م.) المقامة أمام معبد فيله قائمة على الرغم من أن سقفها لم يعد موجوداً، وكان الترتيب المنتظم لأعمدتها الرائعة قد جذب أنظار الرحالة وقاموا بوصفه وتصويره. كانت إيزيس المعبودة الرئيسية للمنطقة، حيث تم تصوير الإمبراطور يقدم القرابين لها ولزوجها أوزيريس وابنهما حورس.

تم نقل كل هذه الآثار من جزيرة فيلة الأصلية إلى جزيرة أجيلكيا القريبة خلال حملة اليونسكو للنوبة فى الستينات لإنقاذ المواقع التي غمرتها مياه النيل فى عملية بناء السد العالي بأسوان.

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

الأجانب : كبار : 140 ج.م/ طلبة: 70 ج.م المصريين/العرب: كبار: 20 ج.م / طلبة: 5 ج.م