Giza Plateau

Giza Plateau

Giza

The pyramids of Giza and the Great Sphinx are among the most popular touristic destinations in the world, and indeed already were even in Roman times. Each of these spectacular structures served as the final resting place of a king of the 4th Dynasty (c.2613–2494 BC). The Great Pyramid of Giza was built for king Khufu (c.2589–2566 BC), and the other two for Khafre and Menkaure, his son and grandson. Khufu’s pyramid is both the oldest and largest of the three, and the first building to exceed it in height would not be built for another 3,800 years!

          Although the three pyramids dominate the plateau, they are in fact surrounded by many other monuments. Every king’s pyramid was just one element—albeit the most important—of a larger complex that included smaller, subsidiary, queens’ pyramids; an additional one that acted as a second, symbolic, tomb for the king, called a satellite pyramid; mastaba tombs for nobility and other family members; burials of actual and/or symbolic boats; and a pair of temples linked by a richly decorated causeway. One of these temples, called the valley temple, led into the pyramid complex, and was located on or near a body of water where boats could dock. The other, the funerary (or upper) temple, stood near the base of the pyramid. Priests maintained the mortuary cult of the deceased king in these temples, where his divine aspect was worshipped, and where rich and diverse offerings were presented to his soul so he could have a peaceful and luxurious afterlife.

Location

Tickets

FOREIGNERS: - Area entry: Adult: EGP 200 / Student: EGP 100 This ticket does not cover the Great Pyramid, Pyramid of Khafre, Pyramid of Menkaure, Tomb of Meresankh III, Worker's Cemetery, or Khufu's Boat Museum. Inclusive tickets allowing entry into the site (Area entry - The Great Pyramid - Khufu's Boat Museum). Adult: EGP 600 / Student: EGP 300 EGYPTIANS/ ARABS: - Area entry: Adult: EGP 30 / Student: EGP 10 This ticket does not cover the Great Pyramid, Pyramid of Khafre, Pyramid of Menkaure, Tomb of Meresankh III, Worker's Cemetery, or Khufu's Boat Museum. LAST TICKET: 4 PM

هضبة الجيزة

هضبة الجيزة

الجيزة

تعد هضبة الجيزة من بين أشهر المواقع السياحية منذ العصور القديمة وحتى اليوم. وتضم تلك الهضبة مقابر ملوك الأسرة الرابعة (2613-3494ق.م) وهي أهرام كل من خوفو (2589-2566 ق.م) وابنه خفرع وحفيده منكاورع بالاضافة إلى تمثال أبو الهول الشهير. ويعد هرم خوفو هو الأكبر والأقدم بين تلك الأهرام والأطول في العالم طيلة 3800 عام.

ويحيط بتلك الأهرامات العظيمة آثاراً أخرى، حيث كان لكل هرم مجموعة هرمية بالإضافة إلى أهرام الملكات والهريم الصغير الذي كان هرمًا رمزيًا للملك، وكذلك كانت هناك مصاطب خصصت لدفن كبار الشخصيات وأفراد العائلة الملكية، ومراكب خوفو المعروفة باسم مراكب الشمس. وكانت المجموعة الهرمية لكل ملك تتضمن معبدين أحدها هو معبد الوادي ويقع عند مرسى النيل ينطلق منه طريق صاعد جوانبه مزخرفة  يؤدي إلى معبد علوي والمعروف باسم المعبد الجنائزي المتاخم للهرم. وكان الكهنة يقومون بطقوس الدفن والجنازة الخاصة بالملك المتوفى داخل تلك المعابد حيث يتحول إلى معبود وتقدم القرابين الثرية لروحه كي ينعم بالسلام في العالم الآخر.

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

الأجانب: - دخول المنطقة: كبار: 200 ج. م / طلبة: 100 ج. م التذكرة لا تشمل الهرم الأكبر، هرم خفرع ، هرم منكاورع، مقبرة مرس عنخ ، جبانة العمال، متحف مركب خوفو. - تذكرة شاملة ( دخول المنطقة - الهرم الأكبر - متحف مركب خوفو) : كبار: 600 ج. م / طلبة: 300 ج. م المصريين/ العرب: - دخول المنطقة: كبار: 30 ج. م / طلبة: 10 ج. م التذكرة لا تشمل الهرم الأكبر، هرم خفرع ، هرم منكاورع، مقبرة مرس عنخ ، جبانة العمال، متحف مركب خوفو. أخر ميعاد للتذاكر: 4 مساءاً