Abu Simbel

Abu Simbel

Aswan

The Great Temple of Abu Simbel, in Nubia near Egypt’s southern border, is among the most awe-inspiring monuments of Egypt. It was cut into the living rock by King Ramesses II (the Great) of the Nineteenth Dynasty, around 1264 BC. The temple is most well known for the four imposing seated colossal statues that dominate its façade. One of these collapsed because of an ancient earthquake, and its fragments can still be seen on the ground.

          Colossal standing statues of the king line the main hall, leading to the sanctuary where four deities are sat: Amun‑Ra, Ra‑Horakhty, Ptah, and a deified version of Ramesses II. The temple was built with such precision that on two days a year, the 22nd of February and 22nd of October, the sun’s rays enter the temple, cross the main hall, and illuminate the innermost statues. These dates are thought to correspond to the coronation and birthday of Ramesses II.

          Another rock-cut temple to the north, known as the Small Temple, is dedicated to the goddess Hathor and Ramesses II’s Great Royal Wife, Queen Nefertari. On the façade of the Small Temple, her colossi are the same size as those of her husband, a very rare example of such display.

           The two temples were moved from their original location in 1968 after the Aswan High Dam was built, which threatened to submerge them. The relocation was completed thanks to an international effort led by UNESCO, and the temple was admitted into the list of World Heritage Sites in 1979.

Location

Tickets

FOREIGNERS: Adult: EGP 200/ Student: EGP 100 February 22nd & October 22nd: Adult: EGP 400/ Student: EGP 200 EGYPTIANS/ ARABS: Adult: EGP 10/ Student: EGP 5 February 22nd & October 22nd: Adult: EGP 30/ Student: EGP 15

أبو سمبل

أبو سمبل

أسوان

يعد معبد أبو سمبل الكبير، الواقع في النوبة بالقرب من الحدود الجنوبية لمصر، من بين المعالم الأكثر روعة في مصر، قام الملك رمسيس الثاني من الأسرة التاسعة عشرة تم قطعه كاملاً في الجبل، حوالي عام 1264 قبل الميلاد، يشتهر المعبد بتماثيله الأربعة الضخمة جالسة والتى تزين واجهته، والتي انهار أحدها بسبب زلزال قديم ولا تزال بقاياه على الأرض.

          تقف ثماثيل الملك الضخمة على جانبي الصالة الرئيسية المؤدية إلى قدس الأقداس، حيث تجلس أربعة آلهة: آمون رع، ورع حورآختي، وبتاح، ورمسيس الثاني مؤلهاً، وتم بناء المعبد بدقة عالية بحيث تدخل أشعة الشمس في المعبد يومين في السنة، في 22 فبراير و 22 أكتوبر، وتعبر الصالة الرئيسية ، وتضيء التماثيل الموجودة في عمق المعبد، ويعتقد أن هذه التواريخ تتوافق مع تتويج وميلاد رمسيس الثاني.

          يقع إلى الشمال، معبداً آخر من الصخور معروف باسم المعبد الصغير، مكرس للإلهة حتحور والزوجة الملكية العظمى لرمسيس الثاني، الملكة نفرتاري، وعلى واجهة المعبد الصغير، تقف تماثيلها الضخمة بنفس حجم تماثيل زوجها،  في مثال نادر جدًا.

           تم نقل المعبدين من موقعهما الأصلي في عام 1968 بعد بناء السد العالي بأسوان، الذي هدد بإغراقهما، وتم الانتهاء من عملية النقل بفضل الجهود الدولية التي قادتها اليونسكو، وتم قبول المعبد في قائمة مواقع التراث العالمي في عام 1979.

الموقع

أسعار التذاكر

الأجانب: كبار: 200 ج. م./ طلبة: 100 ج. م يومى 22 فبراير و 22 أكتوبر: كبار: 400 ج. م/ طلبة: 200 ج. م المصريين/العرب: كبار: 10 ج. م/ طلبة: 5 ج. م يومى 22 فبراير و 22 أكتوبر: كبار: 30 ج. م./ طلبة: 15 ج. م